Tags

, , ,

on_off

I have spent more time in college dorm rooms as a post-graduate professional than I ever did as an undergraduate. Now I understand why colleges kick kids out over the summer—so they can rent out dorm rooms to resident teachers who have to complete required trainings for their districts.
As a part of my required training this past summer, I found myself in a 12×12 room on Arkansas State University’s campus. There was a bed, a desk, and a closet. There was also a light switch that controlled a large globe that when turned on, flooded the room with a pale, artificial light that reached to every corner and crevice of the tiny box being passed off as a bedroom. As long as I was awake, the light, though extremely bright, had to remain on. There was no dimmer switch. When the light was turned off, the room was left in total darkness. This interfered with my “wind down” process. I couldn’t curl up with a book and relax because there was no one there to flip the switch from “on” to “off” when I was finally ready to rest. The light had to remain on unless I was ready to go to sleep. There was no middle ground.
And so it is with us. For some of us, the light switch has been flipped on. The light is shining brightly for all to see. We may even disturb those around us who may be trying to “rest” or “relax”. Sadly, however, many others have chosen to remain in the dark.
In this journey, there is no middle ground, no dimmer switch, no “wind down” period. You are either following Christ or you are not. You have either chosen to lay down your life or you haven’t. So many of us want to create a middle lane; we want to buy in, but we don’t want to sell out. We have inverted the Gospel and invited Jesus to follow us, to be our “homie”, to be down with us no matter what type of life we are living and what decisions we are making. Jesus is not my homie. My homies will ride with me whether I’m wrong or whether I am right. They love me for me and don’t expect anything more than what I am willing to give. Jesus is my Savior and He gave His life for me so that I could have life, and have it more abundantly. He loves me enough to want the best for me, and He requires from me, sometimes, more than I am willing to give; my life, my rights, my feelings. He wants my light to shine brightly all the time. If you have not gotten that revelation, you may still be in the dark. He wants to draw you out of darkness and into His marvelous light.
Revelation 3:16 says, “So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth.” (NKJV) There is something revolting to God about a professed Christian who tries to serve both God and the world. This person is like nausea-inducing tepid water and God makes it clear His response to such gross indifference toward His love and affection.
In my own walk with Christ, there is something much more tolerable about a person who does not believe as opposed to a person who claims to believe but refuses to live a life in accordance with those beliefs. The unbeliever needs only an experience with Jesus, needs only to feel the warmth of His embrace, to feel that unexplainable joy planted in the hearts of all who believe. But a middle-of-the-roader cannot be moved; he serves a God of his own creation. He has convinced himself that his logic and knowledge are enough to please God.
Hebrews 11:6 says, “But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he that comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek after Him.” (NKJV) Our faith is the ONLY thing that pleases God. It is our faith in Him that causes us to seek Him diligently. Our faith in Him increases our desire to please Him and our yearning for His presence. Our faith in Him keeps us on our faces interceding for our loved ones. We can never pay God back for what He did for us, but because He first loved us, we love Him in return through faithful and diligent worship and service. If you are still on the fence about your faith, it is because you don’t really love Him as much as you’ve convinced yourself to believe you do. Ask His Holy Spirit to search your heart and reveal those hidden wounds that keep you distant from Him. Get out of the world and get into the Word of God and allow it to be the lamp unto your feet and light unto your path. Get off the fence and get into faith.

